Exchange Programs and Cross-enrollment Agreements

Stanford has exchange programs and cross-enrollment agreements with a number of other colleges and universities. The purpose of these programs and agreements is to offer Stanford students courses and training that are not available in the Stanford curriculum.


Stanford has exchange programs with four colleges and universities that allow students to exchange schools for a quarter/semester or for a year, depending on the school. These programs are best suited to students in their junior year, when the major area of study has been determined. Stanford students register for zero units at Stanford during the quarter(s) in which they are attending another college or university and pay the regular Stanford tuition. Courses taken at the other institution are treated as transfer credit back to Stanford. Students should contact the External Credit Evaluation section of the Office of the University Registrar to determine whether the courses taken through an exchange program may qualify for credit toward a Stanford degree. Only the number of units accepted in transfer, not the course titles or the grades received, are recorded on the Stanford transcript.

Exchange programs are currently available at three historically black institutions: Howard University in Washington D.C.; and Morehouse College and Spelman College in Atlanta, Georgia. The exchange program at Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire, focuses on Native American Studies. Further information is available at the Undergraduate Advising and Research Center.


The IvyPlus Exchange Scholar Program is open to doctoral students in programs other than the Graduate School of Business or Stanford Law School who have completed one full year of study at one of the participating institutions. These students may apply to study at Stanford, and Stanford students may apply to one of these other institutions, for a maximum of one academic year (Autumn, Winter, and Spring quarters) to take advantage of particular educational opportunities not available on the home campus. The participating institutions are Brown University, University of Chicago, Columbia University, Cornell University, Harvard University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Princeton University, Stanford University, University of Pennsylvania, and Yale University. Further information on the program may be obtained from the Office of the University Registrar, or the graduate dean's office at participating institutions. Some institutions may place restrictions on specific departments.

Stanford also has separate exchange programs with the University of California, Berkeley, and the University of California, San Francisco. Further information may be obtained at the Office of the University Registrar.


See the ROTC section of this bulletin for information on ROTC cross-enrollment programs.