Skip to Main Content


Office: McClatchy Hall, Building 120, Room 110
Mail Code: 94305-2050
Phone: (650) 723-1941
Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Communication are listed under the subject code COMM on the Stanford Bulletin's ExploreCourses web site.

Stanford's Department of Communication focuses on media in all its forms. The department studies the processes and effects of mass communication: the nature and social role of the various media; their structure, function, and ethics; and their impact on the political system, culture, and society. In this context, it considers not only traditional mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, radio, television, and film, but also information technology, online media, virtual reality, and the Internet. Students are trained as social scientists who can study the media and as potential practitioners in the use of the media in journalism, mass communications, and digital media. The department combines theory and practice and fosters individual research opportunities for its students, employing both quantitative and qualitative approaches.

The Department of Communication engages in research in communication and offers curricula leading to the B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees. The M.A. degree prepares students for a career in journalism. The department also offers current Stanford University undergraduates a coterminal program with an M.A. emphasis in Media Studies. The Ph.D. degree leads to careers in university teaching and research-related specialties.

The John S. Knight (JSK) Journalism Fellowships empowers diverse journalism leaders to succeed as effective change agents, sustain democratic communities and defend press freedom around the world. We focus on helping these journalism leaders succeed as effective change agents, improving the access to information people need to create and sustain democratic communities. Through individual coaching, tailored workshops and peer-to-peer learning, the JSK Fellowships helps fellows identify the tools and mindsets needed to effectively lead and navigate change in times of uncertainty. 

Mission of the Undergraduate Program in Communication

The mission of the undergraduate program in Communication is to expose students to a broad-based understanding of communication theory and research. Students in this major are expected to become familiar with the fundamental concerns, theoretical approaches, and methods of the field, and to acquire advanced knowledge in one or more sub-areas of the discipline. This is accomplished by several levels of study: a core curriculum; intermediate-level electives; and optional internships. Majors also have the opportunity to do advanced research projects. The department is committed to providing students with analytical and critical skills needed for success in graduate programs, professional schools, or immediate career entry.


Prospective Undergraduates: Applications are available at Undergraduate Admissions

Prospective Coterminal Students: See the University Registrar's web site for information on how to apply.

Prospective Graduate Students: Applications are available online at Graduate Admissions

Submission of Graduate Record Examination (GRE) scores is optional for applicants to the Ph.D. Program in Communication, and not required for applicants to the master’s program. Admission to each graduate degree program is competitive and based on the pool of applicants each year rather than on standard criteria that can be stated in advance. See Communication Department admission procedures and requirements for detailed information about admission to the department.

Stanford students who are completing an M.A. degree and who desire entry into the Ph.D. program must file a Graduate Program Authorization Petition in Axess. Such students are considered alongside all other doctoral applicants.


Emeriti: (Professor) Theodore L. Glasser, Donald F. Roberts; (Professor, Teaching)

Chair: James T. Hamilton

Director, Doctoral Program in Communication: Byron Reeves

Director, John S. Knight Journalism Fellowships: Dawn E. Garcia

Director, Graduate Program in Journalism: James T. Hamilton

Director, Graduate Program in Coterminal Media Studies: Byron Reeves

Director, Undergraduate Studies: Fred Turner

Professors: Jeremy Bailenson, Angèle Christin, James S. Fishkin, James T. Hamilton, Jeffrey T. Hancock, Shanto Iyengar, Jon Krosnick, Jennifer Pan, Nilam Ram, Byron B. Reeves, Fred Turner

Assistant Professors: Gabriella Harari, Xiaochang Li

Courtesy Professors:  Shane Denson, Nathaniel Persily, Walter Powell

Lorry I. Lokey Visiting Professor in Professional Journalism: Geralyn Migielicz, Serdar Tumgoren

Hearst Professionals in Residence: Cheryl Phillips

Carlos Kelly McClatchy Visiting Lecturer: Janine Zacharia

Lecturers: R.B. Brenner, Gary Pomerantz, James Wheaton