Skip to Main Content


Office: Braun Music Center, Room 101
Mail Code: 94305-3076
Phone: (650) 723-3811

Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Music are listed under the subject code MUSIC on the Stanford Bulletin ExploreCourses web site.

Mission of the Department of Music

The Department of Music at Stanford brings together music-making and scholarly research in composition, conducting, performance, music history, ethnomusicology, music theory, cognitive science, intermedia, and computer-based technologies.

Departmental activities serve a broad and diverse constituency on campus and in local communities, with an abundance of courses, concerts, performance opportunities, research projects, workshops, and lectures throughout the year. Ensembles from a variety of world cultures are open to all students: orchestras, jazz and chamber ensembles, taiko, guzheng, steelpan, and several choral groups. Many of the faculty have affiliations with other departments, programs, and interdisciplinary centers, such as Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Art and Art History, German Studies, Neuroscience, Symbolic Systems, Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity, and Islamic Studies. Alumni include faculty in universities and conservatories around the world, researchers in the technologies of music and acoustics, members of major orchestras, soloists, chamber musicians, and sound artists, composers and arrangers in contemporary, film and game music.


Emeriti: (Professors) Karol Berger, John M. Chowning, Brian Ferneyhough, Thomas Grey, William H. Ramsey, Julius O. Smith; (Professors, Performance) Arthur P. Barnes, Marie Gibson; (Professor Teaching) George Barth

Chair: Stephen Hinton

Director of Graduate Studies: Heather Hadlock (on leave)

Director of Undergraduate Studies: Mark Applebaum

Professors: Mark Applebaum, Jonathan Berger (on leave), Chris Chafe, Stephen Hinton,

Associate Professors: Takako Fujioka, Denise Gill, Heather Hadlock (on leave), Jaroslaw Kapuscinski, William P. Mahrt, Jesse Rodin, Ge Wang

Assistant Professors: Patricia Alessandrini (on leave), Ioanida Costache

Professor (Teaching): Stephen M. Sano (Director of Choral Studies)

Assistant Professor (Teaching): Elizabeth Schumann (Director of Keyboard Studies)

Associate Professor (Teaching): Paul Phillips (Director of Orchestral Studies)

Courtesy Professors: Paul DeMarinis, Elizabeth Erikson-DiRenzo, Doug L. James, C. Kwang Sung

Senior Lecturers: Giancarlo Aquilanti (Director of Theory; Wind Ensemble), Talya Berger (Theory), Laura Dahl (Resident Collaborative Pianist), Kathryne Jennings (Voice; Director of Vocal Studies), Stephen Harrison (Cello), François Rose (Theory and Composition), Robin Sharp (Violin)

Advanced Lecturers: Erika Arulanantham (Theory), Wendy Hillhouse (Voice), Erik Ulman (Composition, Theory), Timothy Zerlang (University Carillonneur, Piano)

Lecturers: Akwasi Papa Abrefah (Steelpan), Kumaran Arul (Piano), Constantin Basica (CCRMA; PostDoc), Mark Brandenburg (Clarinet), Marie-Louise Catsalis (Voice), Louise Costigan-Kerns (Piano), Tony Clements (Tuba), Greer Ellison (Flute, Baroque Flute), Charles A. Ferguson (Guitar), Debra Fong (Violin), Michael Galisatus (Jazz Ensemble), Russell Gavin (LSJUMB), Dawn Harms (Violin, Viola), Alexandra Hawley (Flute), David Henderson (Classical Saxophone), Melody Holmes-Vedder (Flute), Nova Jiménez (Voice), Hans Kretz (SNE), Joo-Mee Lee (Violin), Dan Levitan (Harp), Mary Linduska (Voice, Summer), Benjamin Liupaogo (Voice), Murray Low (Jazz & Jazz Piano), Adam Luftman (Trumpet), Anthony Martin (Baroque Violin), Robin May (Oboe), Charles McCarthy (Jazz Saxophone), Romain Michon (CCRMA), Robert Huw Morgan (University Organist, Organ), Bruce Moyer (Contrabass), Herbert Myers (Early Winds), James Nadel (Jazz), Rafael Ornes (Summer Chorus), Nick Platoff (Trombone), Joshua Redman (Jazz), David Rokeach (Drum Set), Marty Thenell (Percussion), Elaine Thornburgh (Harpsichord), Josh Thurston-Milgrom (Jazz Bass), Linda Uyechi (Taiko), Rick Vandivier (Jazz Guitar), John Worley (Jazz Trumpet), Hui (Daisy) You (Gu-Zheng)

Adjunct Professors: Jonathan Abel (CCRMA), David Berners (CCRMA), Marina Bosi-Goldberg (CCRMA), Hongchan Choi (CCRMA), Poppy Crum (CCRMA), Diana Deutsch (CCRMA), Pierre Divenyi (CCRMA), Walter Hewlett (Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities), Blair Kaneshiro (CCRMA), Miriam Kolar (CCRMA), Gautham Mysore (CCRMA), Craig Sapp (Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities), Eleanor Selfridge-Field (Computer-Assisted Research in the Humanities), Malcolm Slaney (CCRMA)

Artists-in-Residence (St. Lawrence) Owen Dalby (Violin), Lesley Robertson (Viola), Christopher Costanza (Cello)

Visiting Artist-in-Residence: Joshua Redman (Jazz Saxophone), Stephen Prutsman (Piano)

Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in the Humanities: Pheaross Graham (PostDoc)