Office: Building 420
Mail Code: 94305-2130
Phone: (650) 725-2400
Web Site:

Courses offered by the Department of Psychology are listed under the subject code PSYCH on the Stanford Bulletin's ExploreCourses web site.

The department maintains many computer-equipped laboratories and the Stanford Center for Cognitive and Neurobiological Imaging (CNI). Bing Nursery School, located on campus at 850 Escondido Road, provides a laboratory for child observation, training in nursery school teaching, and research. It was constructed with funding from the National Science Foundation and a special grant from Mrs. Anna Bing Arnold and Dr. Peter Bing.

The department provides

  • courses designed for the general student

  • a major program leading to the degree of Bachelor of Arts, including an option for honors

  • an undergraduate minor program

  • programs of graduate study and research leading to the degree of Doctor of Philosophy

  • a Ph.D. minor

Applications are not accepted for the master's degree except as noted below.

Mission of the Undergraduate Program in Psychology

The mission of the undergraduate program in Psychology is to introduce students to the theories and empirical studies of human behavior. This includes the study of aging, achievement, child development, cognitive processes, conflict, culture, decision making, emotion, group behavior, health, identity, infancy, language, learning and memory, morality, motivation, personality, psychopathology, race, self, social perception, visual perception, and other related topics. The major provides students with knowledge and skills relevant to professional careers in technology, business, counseling, education, public policy, law, and medicine, as well as graduate studies in Psychology.


Emeriti: (Professors) Herbert H. Clark, Anne Fernald, John H. Flavell, Mark R. Lepper, Roger N. Shepard, Claude M. Steele, Ewart A. C. Thomas, Barbara Tversky, Jeffrey J. Wine, Philip G. Zimbardo

Chair: Kalanit Grill-Spector

Vice Chair: Jeanne L. Tsai

Director of Graduate Studies: Hyowon Gweon

Director of Undergraduate Studies: James J. Gross

Professors: Laura L. Carstensen, Geoffrey Cohen, Carol Dweck, Jennifer L. Eberhardt, Michael C. Frank, Ian H. Gotlib, Kalanit Grill-Spector, James J. Gross, Brian Knutson, Ellen M. Markman, Hazel R. Markus, James L. McClelland, Dale Miller, Benoit Monin, Russell A. Poldrack, Nilam Ram, Jeanne L. Tsai, Anthony D. Wagner, Brian Wandell

Professor (Research): Anthony Norcia

Associate Professors: Alia Crum, Justin Gardner, Noah Goodman, Hyowon Gweon, Gregory M. Walton, Jamil Zaki

Associate Professor (Teaching): Catherine Heaney

Assistant Professors: Tobias Gerstenberg, Steven Roberts, Daniel Yamins, Jason Yeatman

Assistant Professor (Research): Johannes Eichstaedt

Lecturers: David Cardinal, Parul Chandra, Todd Erickson, Amie Haas, Adrienne Lomangino, Yochai Z. Shavit, Jordan G. Starck, Jenna Valasek, Jennifer Winters, Beth Wise

Courtesy Professors: Michelle Gelfand, Gary H. Glover, Jon Krosnick, Tanya Luhrmann, Robert MacCoun, Bruce McCandliss, William T. Newsome, Laura Roberts, Leanne Williams

Graduate Advising Expectations

The Department of Psychology is committed to providing academic advising in support of graduate student scholarly and professional development. When most effective, the advising relationship entails collaborative and sustained engagement by both the advisor and the advisee. As a best practice, advising expectations should be periodically discussed and reviewed to ensure mutual understanding. Both the advisor and the advisee are expected to maintain professionalism and integrity.

Faculty advisors guide students in key areas, such as selecting courses, designing and conducting research, writing results of research studies as manuscripts for peer-reviewed journals, developing teaching pedagogy, navigating policies and degree requirements, and exploring academic opportunities and professional pathways.

Graduate students are active contributors to the advising relationship, proactively seeking academic and professional guidance and taking responsibility for informing themselves of policies and degree requirements for their graduate program.

For a statement of University policy on graduate advising, see the "Graduate Advising" section of this bulletin.

Individual Development Plan (IDP)

In order to meet the advising goals described above, each PhD student is required to complete an annual Individual Development Plan (IDP) and have at least one meeting with their advisor during the academic year to discuss the IDP. The purpose of the annual IDP meeting is to provide an opportunity to discuss the big picture of the student’s progress over the past year as well as goals for the future. To help the IDP, prior to the meeting the student completes a form that promotes self-reflection and self-evaluation, and helps structure the discussion topics with the advisor. During the IDP meeting the student brings his or her current CV and discuss with the advisor current progress and future goals. During the meeting the student and their advisor develops an action plan for the subsequent year; both keep a copy of this plan.

For details about the IDP forms and process, please visit the Psychology Department website's PhD Program Requirements page. The IDP meeting must take place before June 1 of each year. It is the student’s responsibility to report when the meeting has occurred to the student services manager.