Geophysics is the branch of Earth sciences which explores and analyzes active processes of the Earth through physical measurement. The undergraduate and graduate programs are designed to provide a background of fundamentals in science, and courses to coordinate these fundamentals with the principles of geophysics. Graduate programs provide specialized training for professional work in resource exploration, research, and education, and lead to the degrees of Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy. University requirements for the M.S. and Ph.D. are described in the Graduate Degrees section of this bulletin.The Department of Geophysics is housed in the Ruth Wattis Mitchell Earth Sciences Building. It has numerous research facilities, among which are a state-of-the-art broadband seismic recording station, high pressure and temperature rock properties and rock deformation laboratories, various instruments for field measurements including seismic recorders, nine dual frequency GPS receivers, and field equipment for measuring in-situ stress at great depth. Current research activities include crustal deformation, earthquake seismology and earthquake mechanics, reflection, refraction, and tomographic seismology, rock mechanics, rock physics, seismic studies of the continental lithosphere, remote sensing, environmental geophysics, and synthetic aperture radar studies.